Black checkmark with a sparkle and a curved line underneath on a white background.
Company

Origin Materials, Inc.

Ticker
ORGN
Sector
Industry
Report date
April 29, 2026
Valye AI Score

77

High visibility
Recent developments
Recent developments summary

Recent public news coverage about Origin Materials is limited and primarily historical, focusing on shareholder ownership and SPAC-related topics from 2021.

Recent developments:
  • Public news articles from 2021 discuss shareholder ownership structure and SPACs involving the company [N1][N2].
  • No recent news coverage or business updates are available beyond 2021, limiting current public visibility [N1][N2].
Overview

Origin Materials, Inc. is a Delaware-based company publicly traded on Nasdaq under the ticker ORGN. The company underwent a one-for-thirty reverse stock split effective March 19, 2026. As of the end of 2025, Origin Materials reported revenues of approximately $18.9 million and a net loss of $249.7 million. The company held $32.9 million in cash and equivalents, with a strong liquidity position indicated by a current ratio of 2.83. The leadership team includes co-founder and CEO John Bissell, CFO and COO Matt Plavan, and General Counsel Joshua Lee. The board of directors consists of seven members, six of whom are independent. The company has established governance and compensation policies aligned with Nasdaq standards. Public news coverage is limited and primarily historical, with no recent detailed disclosures on products or market segments.

Executive summary

Financial figures (if any) are summarized from the latest available SEC filings and are provided for informational purposes only — not financial advice. Origin Materials, Inc. is a publicly traded company on Nasdaq (ticker ORGN) that completed a one-for-thirty reverse stock split in March 2026. As of December 31, 2025, the company reported revenues of $18.9 million and a net loss of $249.7 million, with cash and equivalents of $32.9 million and a current ratio of 2.83. The company is led by CEO John Bissell and CFO/COO Matt Plavan, with a board composed mostly of independent directors. Recent public news coverage is limited and dated, focusing on shareholder ownership and SPAC-related topics.

Scenarios for ORGN

Bull case model:

The company benefits from experienced leadership with a strong background in chemical engineering and materials science, including a CEO who co-founded the company and has led capital raises and the public listing. The board includes members with significant operational and financial expertise. The company maintains a solid liquidity position with a current ratio above 2.8 as of the end of 2025. Governance and compensation policies are in place to align management incentives with shareholder interests. The reverse stock split in 2026 may reflect efforts to improve market perception and trading liquidity.

Bear case model:

Origin Materials reported a significant net loss of approximately $249.7 million for the fiscal year ended 2025, with negative earnings per share of -$50.55, indicating substantial ongoing expenses relative to revenues of $18.9 million. The company’s business model details, product offerings, and customer base are not disclosed in the available filings, limiting visibility into revenue sustainability and growth drivers. Public news coverage is dated and limited, reducing external validation of business progress. The company faces risks typical of early-stage materials companies, including execution risk, capital requirements, and market adoption challenges.

Moat:

Origin Materials operates in the materials and chemical industry with leadership experienced in chemical engineering and business development. The company has raised significant capital since its founding in 2008 and went public in 2021. Its board and executive team include individuals with extensive experience in manufacturing, materials science, and corporate finance. However, the available disclosures do not provide detailed information on proprietary technologies, patents, or competitive advantages that would constitute a clear moat. The company’s financial position shows substantial net losses, indicating ongoing investment and development phases.

Risks overview
Risks summary
The primary risk is the company's significant net losses combined with limited disclosure on its business model and market positioning, which creates uncertainty about its path to profitability and sustainable operations.
Risks details:

• Financial Losses and Capital Requirements: The company reported a large net loss in 2025, indicating ongoing capital needs and potential dilution risks.
• Limited Business Model Disclosure: Lack of detailed information on products, customers, and market strategy reduces transparency and increases uncertainty.
• Market and Execution Risks: As a materials company in development phases, the company faces risks related to technology commercialization, market acceptance, and competitive pressures.

FINAL FORECAST FOR ORGN

Final take one line
Origin Materials, Inc. is a materials company with detailed governance and financial disclosures but limited public information on its business model and recent developments.
Final take 12 to 24 month view

Business trends: The company is in a development phase with significant net losses and limited revenue, focusing on materials innovation under experienced leadership.
Execution milestones: Completion of a reverse stock split in 2026, ongoing governance and compensation policy implementation, and retention agreements for key executives.
Key risks: Substantial financial losses, limited disclosure on products and markets, and execution risks typical of early-stage materials companies.

Valye AI Visibility Research Score

High visibility

Visibility score reflects the breadth and consistency of available disclosure across SEC filings, recent public reporting, and baseline business context (research-only; not investment advice).

77
LLM visibility overview
LLM Visibility known facts
  • Origin Materials, Inc. is a Delaware corporation headquartered in West Sacramento, California.
  • The company is publicly traded on The Nasdaq Capital Market under the ticker ORGN, with common stock and warrants listed.
  • Origin Materials completed a one-for-thirty reverse stock split effective March 19, 2026.
  • As of March 31, 2026, the company had approximately 5.5 million shares of common stock outstanding.
  • The company had cash and cash equivalents of approximately $32.9 million as of December 31, 2025, with current assets of about $80.9 million and current liabilities of about $28.5 million, resulting in a current ratio of 2.83 and a cash ratio of 1.15.
  • For the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025, Origin Materials reported revenues of approximately $18.9 million and a net loss of about $249.7 million, with basic and diluted EPS of -$50.55 per share.
  • The company’s board of directors consists of seven members, six of whom are independent according to Nasdaq listing standards.
  • Key executives include John Bissell (CEO and Director), Matt Plavan (CFO and COO), and Joshua Lee (General Counsel, Chief Compliance Officer, and Secretary).
  • John Bissell co-founded Origin Materials in 2008 and has led the company since inception, with a background in chemical engineering and extensive industry experience.
  • Matt Plavan joined as CFO in November 2023 and COO in December 2024, bringing over 30 years of leadership experience in ag-tech, medical devices, and biotechnology sectors.
  • The company has an Audit Committee, Compensation Committee, and Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee composed of independent directors.
  • Origin Materials has adopted an incentive compensation recoupment policy compliant with Nasdaq and SEC rules.
  • The company’s executive officers have retention agreements with milestone-based bonuses and stock option grants with vesting conditions.
  • Non-employee directors receive annual cash retainers and equity awards under a director compensation policy.
  • Major shareholders include Artius Acquisition Partners LLC and Alto Opportunity Master Fund, SPC, each holding more than 5% of common stock.
  • The company’s common stock had a closing price of $14.50 on June 30, 2025, with an aggregate market value of approximately $69.5 million for non-affiliate holdings.
  • Origin Materials has not disclosed detailed product or customer information in the provided filings.
  • Recent public news coverage about the company is limited and dated, with articles from 2021 discussing SPACs and shareholder ownership structures [N1][N2].
Sources
Sources - Context summary

Generated 2026-04-29

Sources - Earning calls
Sources - Other context
Sources - SEC Filings
  • S1 | 2026-04-29 | 10-K/A
Sources - News headlines
  • N1 | 2021-05-04 | www.nasdaq.com | Here's What Artius Acquisition Inc.'s (NASDAQ:AACQ) Shareholder Ownership Structure Looks Like | https://www.nasdaq.com/articles/heres-what-artius-acquisition-inc.s-nasdaq:aacq-shareholder-ownership-structure-looks-like
  • N2 | 2021-03-19 | www.nasdaq.com | 8 SPACs That Are Worth a Gamble | https://www.nasdaq.com/articles/8-spacs-that-are-worth-a-gamble-2021-03-19
Important legal disclaimer

This material is for informational purposes only and does not constitute investment, financial, legal or tax advice, or an offer or solicitation to buy or sell any security. The Valye AI Score is a model-based estimate derived from public information and is subject to change without notice. No representation or warranty, express or implied, is made as to the accuracy, completeness or fairness of the information herein. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Investors should conduct their own research and consult a qualified financial adviser before making any investment decisions.

Blue logo with a stylized checkmark and star above the blue text 'VALYE' on a black background.

Generated by Valye SEC Pipeline Engine